Our network

Nearly 27,000 school volunteers donate more than 800,000 service hours in 2010-2011 | Community Spirit

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Nearly 27,000 school volunteers donate more than 800,000 service hours in 2010-2011
Nearly 27,000 school volunteers donate more than 800,000 service hours in 2010-2011

The school district honored 112 individuals with a Volunteer of the Year Award during an event near the end of the 2010-2011 school year held at Winter Haven’s Nora Mayo Hall.  Schools chose one person as their Volunteer of the Year.

A total of 26,901 volunteers performed 801, 624 hours of service in the 2010-2011 school year in the Polk Public Schools. This represents and in-kind monetary donation of $16,072,561.

Volunteers are mentors, tutors, chaperones, classroom speakers or volunteer in other roles.  They volunteer during school hours and extracurricular activities.  Volunteers are parents, students’ family members, community members, business partners, school neighbors or other supporters.

In addition, five Volunteers of the Year earned special countywide honors at the year-end event.  They were:

  • William Alexander, Winter Haven’s Garner Elementary and Jewett Middle Academy, Adult Volunteer of the Year, Elementary Schools;
  • Kevin Dunn, Auburndale High and Lakeland’s Tenoroc High, Adult Volunteer of the Year, Secondary Schools;
  • Marietta Jennings, Winter Haven’s Inwood Elementary, Senior Citizen Volunteer of the Year, Elementary Schools;
  • John Smith, Lake Wales’ McLaughlin Middle and Fine Arts Academy, Senior Citizen Volunteer of the Year, Secondary Schools;
  • Jessica Whidden, Bartow’s Floral Avenue Elementary, Youth Volunteer of the Year;   Jessica was a 2011 Bartow High graduate.

Volunteers of the Year are listed according to school location. Some volunteers received the award at two schools. 


Alturas Elementary: Virginia Dietel


Auburndale Central Elementary: Debbie Rannow

Auburndale High: Kevin Dunn

Boswell Elementary: Sabrina Reel

Caldwell Elementary: Deborah Price

East Area Adult School: Esther Hammer

Lena Vista Elementary: April Alexander

Stambaugh Middle: Susan Wasnorowicz

Babson Park

Dale R. Fair Babson Park Elementary: Jackie Edwards


Bartow Elementary Academy: Jennifer Daniels

Bartow High: Dixie Yost

Bartow International Baccalaureate: Kavita Mulaney

Bartow Middle: Julie Shaffer

Floral Avenue Elementary: Jessica Whidden

Gause Academy: Donna Crowder

Gibbons Street Elementary: Joellen Brogdon

Jean O’Dell Learning Center: Sharron O’Dell

Spessard Holland Elementary: Andrea Childress

Stephens Elementary: Ann Whitehead

Union Academy: June Ullman


Davenport School of the Arts: Lori Macumber

Horizons Elementary: Jamie Mayhue

Loughman Oaks Elementary: Robert Bass

Ridge Community High: Paul Ross


Dundee Elementary: Tara Perkins

Dundee Ridge Middle: Jennifer Williams

Don Woods Opportunity Center: Cynthia Vergara

Eagle Lake

Eagle Lake Elementary: Yvonne Moore

Lake Region High: Josh Peek

Pinewood Elementary: Ursula Phillips

Eaton Park

Oscar J. Pope Elementary: Margery West


Snively Elementary: Romelia Hernandez

Fort Meade

Lewis Anna Woodbury Elementary: Lucille Vaughn

Fort Meade Middle-Senior: Nell Smith


Ben Hill Griffin Jr. Elementary: George Wrye

Frostproof Elementary: Christina Ellis

Frostproof Middle-Senior: Lori Hutto

Haines City

Alta Vista Elementary: Leslie McKahan

Bethune Academy: Cathy Post

Boone Middle: Tami McWhorter

Eastside Elementary:  Pastor Hugh Lackey

Haines City High: Hyacinth Richardson

Sandhill Elementary: Penny Smith

Highland City

Highland City Elementary: Melissa Giles

Lake Alfred

Discovery Academy: James Shytle

Karen M. Siegel Academy: Paula Mueller

Lake Alfred Elementary: Noel Wynn

Lake Alfred-Addair Middle: Tanisha Mathis

Lake Wales

Hillcrest Elementary: Laney Reynolds

Janie Howard Wilson Elementary: Selena Reinier

Lake Wales High: Nate Seidl

McLaughlin Middle and Fine Arts Academy: John Smith

Polk Avenue Elementary: Staci Rainwater

Spook Hill Elementary: Gary van Dellen


Bill Duncan Opportunity Center: Cynthia Vergara

Blake Academy: Edward Vargo

Carlton Palmore Elementary: Jim Roden

Churchwell Elementary: Carolyn Gullett

Cleveland Court Elementary: Amy Royal

Combee Elementary: Linda Stephens

Crystal Lake Elementary: Janelly Sanchez

Dixieland Elementary: Lea Rivera

Doris Sanders Learning Center: Brenda Taggart

Dr. N.E. Roberts Elementary: Orlando Nesbitt

George Jenkins High: Tamila Duncan

Griffin Elementary: Joyce King

Highlands Grove Elementary: Melissa Hazlett

Harrison School for the Arts: Steve Hicks

Jesse Keen Elementary: Betty Bozeman

Kathleen Elementary: Nicole Villagomez

Kathleen High: Debra Brown

Lake Gibson High: Stacy Johnson

Lake Gibson Middle: Edith Dowell

Lakeland High: Tammy Konkol

Lakeland Highlands Middle: Katy Alach

Lawton Chiles Middle Academy: Mary Volakos

Lincoln Avenue Academy: Tina Rebis

Medulla Elementary: Barbara Ann Memmoli

North Lakeland Elementary: Sabrina McDermott

Padgett Elementary: Jean Bass

Philip O’Brien Elementary: Gloria Gaskins

R. Bruce Wagner Elementary: Chris Perreira

Rochelle School of the Arts: Kathie Gallucci

Scott Lake Elementary: Nancy Willis

Sikes Elementary: Jennifer Barnes

Sleepy Hill Elementary: John Matthias

Socrum Elementary: Anne Bernat

Southwest Elementary: Stephanie Violett

Southwest Middle: Alicia Daniels

Tenoroc High: Kevin Dunn

Valleyview Elementary: Suzanne Middleton

Wendell Watson Elementary: Karla Annable

West Area Adult School: Dick Smith

Winston Elementary: Susan Cruz

Polk City

Polk City Elementary: Kimberly Fudge


Lake Marion Creek School: Elizabeth Carns

Laurel Elementary: Bonnie Rosado

Palmetto Elementary: Jose Claudio


Kingsford Elementary: Lloyd Bennett

Mulberry Middle: Angelo Mendez

Purcell Elementary: Eglantina Olivares-Morin

Winter Haven

Brigham Academy: Jerianna Dawson

Chain of Lakes Elementary: Laura Trimarche

Chain of Lakes High: Donna Smith

Denison Middle: Rebecca Heinz

Elbert Elementary: Jaime Heath

Garden Grove Elementary: Arlene Gingerich

Garner Elementary: William Alexander

Inwood Elementary: Marietta Jennings

Jewett Middle Academy: William Alexander

Jewett School of the Arts: Lenny Wheaton

Lake Shipp Elementary: Patrick Hartma

Wahneta Elementary: Patricia White

Westwood Middle: Jacqueline Timm

Winter Haven High: Audrey Nettlow

Polk County Deals

Polk County Businesses